Sign in to follow this  
giugio

OpenGL opengl win and linux

Hy. I have some little experience in dx 10 . I would start to programming opengl 3. How i can write a portable(win and linux)c++ project? I see that there are some .so in linux and dll in win that are inconpatible(win don't use .so and linux dont use .dll) How i configure a portable project? Thanks

Well i have a project template that i've put together so that all my projects work both in windows and linux. So I can explain the way do it:
Firstly, I use SDL as my windowing manager both in linux and windows (rather than the win32 api stuff).

I do all the windows library references using preprocessor directives and also specify it to use a console subsystem. So my project's main source file contains:

#ifdef _WIN32
# pragma comment(linker, "/SUBSYSTEM:CONSOLE /ENTRY:WinMainCRTStartup")
# pragma comment(lib, "opengl32")
# pragma comment(lib, "glu32")
# pragma comment(lib, "glew32")
# pragma comment(lib, "sdl")
# define WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN
# include "windows.h"
#endif

In linux, my makefile will handle the compilation and library references with something like:

g++ -o linux_out/myapp -lSDL -lGLEW myapp.cpp

All the code must use functions available in both OS'.. If it's not, then use an ifdef to choose. For example the WinMain signature should be main(..) in linux, so i have:

#ifdef _WIN32
int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE prevInstance, LPSTR lpCmd, int nShowCmd){
#else
int main(int argc, char *argv[]){
#endif

I can't think of anything else that's important right now. It'll take a bit of fiddling, but that should help. By using GLUT or SDL(in my case) one can avoid all the OS specific window/input handling.

good luck

EDIT: As for the shared libraries/dlls, ld in linux should be able to locate any needed shared libraries, but in windows you may wanna keep the dll's in the same directory, or in the system path(though distribution may be harder then).

You can't use glut or glfw?