Sign in to follow this  
confusedmelon

Complete novice, where to start?

After enjoying video games for a long time I have decided I would like to learn how they work (hopefully one day working in the field). I am an absolute novice and know nothing about games development but I want to learn and hopefully make a very simple game, my question is where do I start, I have ordered a C++ beginners book from Amazon to get me started but is C++ the best place to start?

Well, some people say C is the best place to start. It's a little simpler than C++, because it's lacking all of the OOP stuff. But If you already have a C++ book then go with that. After you master the basics (and the OOP stuff) I suggest looking at http://www.libsdl.org/ . There's http://lazyfoo.net/SDL_tutorials/index.php that will show you how to use it, and theres a few books out there aswell.

Although you already ordered a book you may just want to hang onto it for a bit, if you're a complete novice to programming i'd recommend picking up another language until you thoroughly grasp the basics. C# and Python are some of my favorites to recommend, they have rather easy to understand syntax. You can also find alot of material online for both languages.

If you really wish to, its entirely possible to start off learning C/C++(especially if you have a good book). Programming in general takes awhile to pick up, don't be afraid to play around with code and re-read material alot.

Like the other replies said SDL and the lazy foo website is a great resource. SDL is great for making 2D games.

One other thing: SDL also has python bindings. It may be easier to pick up python as a first language and if you should desire, later on, using SDL in with C++ will be an easier transition. Also, C# with XNA is another good (and straightforward) beginner's option.