Sign in to follow this  

Dynamics and Rotation

This topic is 3045 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm currently implementing the dynamics (as well as learning) but I'm stuck on the rotation. I know that, when a force is applied to a bodys center of mass, the bodys velocity changes, but not the rotational velocity. Now given a force, applied to an arbitrary point P, how does this affect it's velocity and rotational velocity? I think this might not be that easy for complex bodies, but let's assume my body consists of N shapes that can be treated as a point with the mass Xn. How do I calculate the angular velocity for this body? I'm not looking for something fancy/real, it should provide good looking results. [Edited by - SiS-Shadowman on August 17, 2009 1:31:48 PM]

I'm not a physics expert so maybe I'm missing something simpler, but:

F = force
r = radius
a = angular acceleration
I = moment of inertia
T = torque
* = scalar multiplication
x = vector cross product

T = I * a
T = r x F.

So,

r x F / I = a

Given the center of mass you can compute the vector from the point the force is applied to to the center of mass, giving you r. Your body is simple so you should know the moment of inertia (I), and from that you can calculate the angular acceleration. To have the thing slow down over time instead of constantly accelerating forever, you could just reduce the acceleration slightly each frame, letting it drop below 0 until the rotation stops.

Again physics was always one of my weaker areas, so I'd be more than happy for someone to provide an altnerative.

Thanks for the quick explanation, I do have more questions though.