UpdateSurface and Access Violation

Started by
17 comments, last by Buckeye 14 years, 8 months ago
hello everybody, i'm quite new to directX, i'm simply trying to load a .bmp in a surface, but it gives me back a memory access violation (Null pointer??) here is the code: const wchar_t* path = L"./mcgiver.mbmp"; D3DXIMAGE_INFO Info; D3DXGetImageInfoFromFile(path, &Info); g_pd3dDevice->CreateOffscreenPlainSurface(Info.Width, Info.Height, Info.Format, D3DPOOL_SYSTEMMEM, &Surface, NULL); D3DXLoadSurfaceFromFile(Surface, NULL, NULL, path,NULL, D3DX_FILTER_NONE, 0, NULL); if ( SUCCEEDED (g_pd3dDevice->BeginScene())) { IDirect3DSurface9 *BackBuffer = NULL; g_pd3dDevice->GetBackBuffer(0, 0, D3DBACKBUFFER_TYPE_MONO, &BackBuffer); g_pd3dDevice->UpdateSurface(Surface, NULL, BackBuffer, NULL); g_pd3dDevice->EndScene(); } the error is at UpdateSurface(Surface, NULL, BackBuffer, NULL), and i'm sure it's because of the Surface object, but i cant understand why, this is the exact error: Unhandled exception at 0x743b65d0 in DX9GRAPHICS_1.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000000. can u help me? :) thanks in advance

I love to learn new stuff about computer graphics and the DirectX APIs.

Advertisement
Either Surface or BackBuffer is NULL. Do CreateOffscreenPlainSurface() and GetBackBuffer() both succeed?
mmm...i'm not sure, i receive only this error and if i debug the code it stops at the UpdateSurface line

You should be checking the return values for all of the functions which return any information you rely on. For example:
if(SUCCEEDED(g_pd3dDevice->GetBackBuffer(0, 0, D3DBACKBUFFER_TYPE_MONO, &BackBuffer))   g_pd3dDevice->UpdateSurface(Surface, NULL, BackBuffer, NULL);

The Debug Runtimes will help you find out what's causing the error once you've diagnosed it.

Also, remember that you should be prepared for any D3D call to fail on the target platform, and should at least be able to shut down gracefully.