Sign in to follow this  
BradDaBug

Critique my threadsafe lockless queue!

I'm practically a complete noob at multithreaded programming, but I'm trying to learn. So I attempted to build a threadsafe queue. It's intended to support multiple writers and a single reader. I want it to work on x86 platforms, and it be even better if it worked on PPC (Xbox 360 and whatnot) even with all that CPU's crazy instruction reordering (one particular spot that worries me is whether the middle line inside Push() can get reordered AFTER the final increment of m_writer). So, what is wrong with it? What haven't I accounted for? How can I make it better/faster/cheaper?
template <typename T, int MAX_SIZE = 1024>
class MyQueue
{
	T m_stuff[MAX_SIZE];

// index of the next item that will be popped
	LONG m_reader;

// index of the most recent completed write
	LONG m_writer;

// index of the next available spot for writing
	LONG m_nextWrite;

public:

MyQueue()
	{
		m_reader = 0;
		m_writer = 0;
		m_nextWrite = 0;
	}

// attempt a push. Returns true if successfull, or false if the queue is full.
	bool Push(T t)
	{
		// make sure we don't overwrite old values
		if (GetCount() < MAX_SIZE - 1)
		{
			// reserve a spot for writing
			LONG spotToWrite = InterlockedIncrement(&m_nextWrite) % MAX_SIZE;

// do the write
			m_stuff[spotToWrite] = t;

// update the "write" cursor
			InterlockedIncrement(&m_writer);

return true;
		}

return false;
	}

// pop a value and return true, or return false if nothing left to pop
	// (this only supports single readers)
	bool Pop(T& t)
	{
		if (GetCount() > 0)
		{
			t = m_stuff[m_reader % MAX_SIZE];
			m_reader++;
			return true;
		}

return false;
	}

int GetCount() { return m_writer - m_reader; }

private:

static LONG InterlockedIncrement(volatile LONG* target)
	{
		LONG start, newValue;
		do
		{
			start = *target;
			newValue = start + 1;
		} while (InterlockedCompareExchange(target, newValue, start) != start);

return start;
	}
};