Sign in to follow this  
PaePae

Python choices for MMO?

I have no experience with Python before. But was in a team developing one local commercial online game and one prototype, both were in C++. I am now interested in Python. After research around I found that I have to make decision with choices... Python: CPython / Stackless Python / PyPy Network: Standard Lib / Twisted / (more choices?) CPython is main stream and has more library directly supported. Stackless is well-known for its concurrency. PyPy is also included concurrency feature from Stackless. - Stackless seems to attract me most, but I do not know if there is any network engine supported, or I should develop my own? - Or choosing CPython with a network engine is more suitable? - PyPy seems not mature to me. Can I rely on PyPy for production use? - Python 2.6 or 3k ? I found much less library supporting 3.x :-( I can develop my own network engine, but existing and reliable engine/library is preferred so I can concentrate on game content. I am also interested in RakNet, but existing RakNet-Python binding is outdated, sadly. I would like to hear your opinion and suggestion. Thank you :-)

I have a bit of experience with Stackless Python - the fellow responsible for it, Christian Tismer, is a coworker of mine. Stackless Python is an excellent choice for MMO development. If you've heard of EVE Online, that was written entirely in Stackless.

I think you'll find it to have very satisfactory networking support.

As for PyPy, I can't really offer any comment. I don't have enough substantial experience with it.

Good luck with your project!

Quote:
Original post by cg123
I have a bit of experience with Stackless Python - the fellow responsible for it, Christian Tismer, is a coworker of mine. Stackless Python is an excellent choice for MMO development. If you've heard of EVE Online, that was written entirely in Stackless.

Not entirely in stackless. Components of it are in stackless though. Others are in C.