Sign in to follow this  
gaming_enthusiast

My approach to Rpg development - Advice would be appreciated

This is my first post on the site so i do apologize if it is slightly crude. (This was moved from the beginners forum) I have self taught myself C++, and created a console application RPG. I walked into a game company, in hind sight quite naively for a summer freelancing as a game-play programmer, and was told to come back with it 3D. To stop myself before i get too chatty, started working with the Light feather engine, an opengl engine, got to proper development after tutorials and found it is slightly incomplete in areas. Anyway talked to a member of the lionhead team, told me to move to the direct x engine that have everything pre-built so i could just code in the game play. What i would like as an end result is to be able have my character (hopefully find a model on the net), walk around a textured terrain (i have enough experience with DirectX 10 to do this, i have done some previously) have random battles with my monster(hopefully models again) using a timer (Ctime Rand library is what i currently use) and able to bring up a menu and save system. Oh buy weapons from random guy in terrain (already made code for the shop) This was the plan to: 1. Expand the monster classes(enemy groups already created) and move them to XML. 2. Then start working with 3D engine. 3. Top down approach design- title, then terrain 4. Bring improve game-play into the 3d engine 5. Get a Base working 6. Then working expand It seems good to me, but i feel that there are holes. Any advice would be much appreciated? Also if you know of a game engine can you tell me about it? I have tried irrichlict, orge 3d but felt they were slight overwhelming when i first started, having other views on it would be a great value. Some once told me to script lua for the battle system, can someone expand on this for me? Thanks

Hi,