Sign in to follow this  
robertosaget

A little confused on the path from college student to gamedev?

greetings a third time, The reason i started a new thread is because the last thread was about creating windows with c and me realizing that java and c# were a better way of creating windows. I am a college student who is currently studying java and who has a rudimentary knowledge of swing and C(I know both are very unrelated). I know this is a pipe dream ,but i always wanted to work on games and i thought with some knowledge of programming i could have my chance to start. I know i am not going to be making Gears of War or Halo Combat evolved by the end of the day but i wanted to know about the path i should take so eventually i could make things such as Doom(The 2.5d shooter) or a platformer. After reading many, many threads i got a basic idea on the path from College student with a knowledge of java to a gamedev with basic knowledge of gamedev. What i got from the threads is(Keep in mind i can be horribly wrong. You guys are the experts no i) 1-create basic text games 2-Create more advanced text based game 3-Create even more advanced text based game to test your knowledge of the language as well as what you can do. 4-Understand the basics of graphics in 2d 5-Understand more of the basics such as how to create a window 6-Create basic windowed programs 7-create more advanced windowed programs 8-with the knowledge of how to create windows as well as the language you can start with gamedev and its bare basics. 9-learn about the basics and of the api you are using as well as what it can and can not do. 10-???(This is where i am stuck on my ultimate plan) This is my question. What is the path i should take with the current knowledge i have now(Java and C) so that one day i might become a basic gamedev? I see there are some books in my college library about opengl,java games,directx , and xna. Should i take one out or am i not ready for that yet? Thanks. I know the thre