• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
iBirdsniper

Computer Science Course in High School

This topic is 3357 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello All, As some of you may know, i am a junior in High School and i am an aspiring Game programmer. I have a few books, but i need to find a school in the LOS ANGELES CA region where i can learn a few programming languages and possibly get college credit for those. Please , let me know if any of you have an idea about where i can head to for Computer Science Courses. I Thank you kindly. Gary

Advertisement
Hey Gary,

Take as high level math as you can, and try and find a school that has "AP Computer Science" offered.

You can also check and see if any community colleges in your area would let you attend and get a jump start on some computer science or game dev classes (if they offer game dev curriculum)

Also, ***very important*** make sure and get as many MODERN books as you can in game development in C++ / DirectX and go through them and learn as much as you possibly can. OpenGL is a decent API, but unfortunately it's kind of dead for game development (well except for iphone / ipod touch development).

You can learn C# game dev too like with XNA, but make sure you get plenty of C++ experience and get comfortable with it.

Also, make sure that you FINISH your programs so that they are demoable. That is uber important! And try and expose yourself to as much knowledge as humanly possible. That means do some graphics programming, some physics programming, network programming, multithreaded programming, do some security type stuff, work with databases if you can etc.

Have you given any thoughts to college after high school?