• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
biophaze

Multithreading

This topic is 3173 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Alright, Long story short I'm developing a game that plays similar to ADOM in that it's ASCII rendered and is non networking. I've decided to multithread my Engine, but I'm very new to this subject. Could some one please point me in the right direction of 1) a game engine development tutorial/book, and 2) a tutorial/book on multithreading in games. Much obliged, Alex

Advertisement
For something as simple as a rougelike ASCII RPG, do you even need multithreading? What do you plan to run on multiple threads?

No I don't need multi threading, but I'm new to multithreading, and wanted something fun to start with, and I wanted something easy(relatively), thus, rogue like ASCII rendered game for me ^^.

I planned on running the games physics/graphics on a different thread than the Processing functions... My engine, and yes I know it's rather crude, is structured like this

Input->Process->Render

where input is both AI and User, processing encompasses both physics and commands and renderings is fairly self explanatory.

really I know it's redundant and even circuitous to include multithreading in this program. But it's just for the learning. This game wont be released outside my close friends so it doesn't matter how out of the way I go to make it.

edit: thank you salavous for you're link, It will come in handy.

Quote:
Original post by biophaze
No I don't need multi threading, but I'm new to multithreading, and wanted something fun to start with, and I wanted something easy(relatively), thus, rogue like ASCII rendered game for me ^^.

I planned on running the games physics/graphics on a different thread than the Processing functions... My engine, and yes I know it's rather crude, is structured like this