• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
mokaschitta

Various Model Export/Import questions with blender

This topic is 3267 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am about to start my first simple model exporter in blender but I have various questions since I have never done this before and I would like to make things correctly from the beginning so I can extend my exporter/format easily in the future without having to rewrite everything. So basically for now I want to start to only export static models with TBN Matrix for things like bump mapping. I want to make the format openGL friendly and also export it as indexed data. questions: 1. if I want to export indexed arrays from blender, I though I would simply write each position/normal/texcoord to an array, and only add it if its not allready in there. So basically only if normal/texcoord and position are identical with one exiting in the array, i will refer to it with its index, otherwise I need to add it as a new vertex with another index. Would that work? 2. what if I want to have for example a tree where I can animate its branches with a simple wind vertex shader but the stomp should not move. Would I create the stomp and the branches as different objects and also respect it in my format? What is the common way of doing this? 3. Generally how can I link specific parts of my model with certain shaders? I would be really thankful if someone could clearify these things for me and point me into the right direction! Thanks!

Advertisement
Quote: