• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
skNiNe

Little Map (World)

This topic is 3263 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, i am new to game programming and worked through the most of the tutorials on directxtutorial.com. I think i understood a lot and programmed myself a tetris 3d without the help of the tutorial (premium member). Now I want to build a small shooter (i know how difficult this is, and no, i don't want to build a game like crysis :D). I thought about a little counter-strike aim-map. This means, a world which contains a few boxes und 4 walls :>. Now i don't know where to start. Do I have to set every box and wall and so on by manual or is there a programm which generates me a .x file which i can load into the game? If i have to set everything by hand, do anyone know a good tutorial? I looked for a terrain tutorial but i found only tutorials to build a realistic world with mountains and great textures and so on :D. Sorry for my bad english :< I hope anyone could read my english and can help me :(

Advertisement
You've run into one of areas of game programming for which there are many approaches and solutions - unfortunately, none of them are simple.

How much time and effort do you want to invest to create your game?

Since you're new to game programming, I strongly suggest you just get on with it and create something quickly for the experience. Create some box model meshes and a skybox and export them to x-files. Manually position them in your world and continue on.

Beyond that, it gets much more complicated as there are many model editors (Blender, Maya, Softimage, etc.), game engines (modeling, game and level design, all-in-one), texture editors, collision detection, etc., etc.