• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Sean_Seanston

Game Programming in a Team

This topic is 3343 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This probably could go in Software Engineering but since it deals with the specifics as relating to games and how to program in a way that makes code from multiple people easy to integrate I figured it might work best here. This is a problem that I've encountered before in college when assignments come up with mandatory teams. The very fact you have double or triple the amount of people involved seems to make things many more times harder in the end and this is an area where I have very little experience and so I'd like to learn more from people who know about this kind of thing. I'm having real difficulty seeing where to even begin with somehow dividing programming work between 2 or more people that must in the end mesh together seamlessly without having to do extensive rewriting. Let's say the design is for a simple 2D scrolling platformer. There are maybe several discernible areas to work on such as: enemies, player control/movement, collision detection, level design etc. but these are all essentially interconnected to a great degree and seem almost impossible to produce in isolation as they're reliant on other things that makes testing impossible unless you have the entire program. Even if testing that something actually behaves as expected wasn't necessary, how would these "components" made by different people be made to effortlessly form a finished whole? Might you perhaps work in semi-abstract ways by using functions such as DetectCollisions() in your code if collision detection was being worked on by someone else? Though collisions would have to take into account level geometry and every single thing that is to collide, making those very hard to separate and even if generic DoCollision