• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
davis31

Master Degree on Videogame Programming

This topic is 3259 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everybody! I'm a student of last year of Computer Sciences from Spain. Now I find myself deciding what to do in the future and after some thinking I've decided to take a Master Degree in Videogame Programming (or Developing or Designing or whatever they want to call it). There are some Masters in Spain but here game developing is still not so important and I think doing my Master in Spain wouldn't be the best idea. I'm telling this without knowing too much so maybe that's not true but that's what I think... So, I would like to know which Universities (not only in Europe but around the World) do you think that offer good Masters in Videogames. Thank you in advance!

Advertisement
Hey Davis!

I'm all for getting a 4 year degree in game programming but anything above that seems to be a waste.

Video game programming is still so young that things change all the time and frankly i don't think they have enough concrete, static knowledge to make a masters or doctoral program that means anything.

Long story short, why not get your masters in computer science, it's a much more respected and versatile degree and will get you where you want to be anyhow.

Maybe you could minor in video games or some video game related field? :P

My $0.02 :P

Quote:
Original post by davis31
I've decided to take a Master Degree in Videogame Programming (or Developing or Designing or whatever they want to call it).
Is this because that is your passion, or is this because you think it will get you a job?

If that is your passion, then great. If it is to get a job, I suggest you don't bother with it.

Quote: