• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
noobsiabot

SDL Load_BMP help!

This topic is 3267 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everybody, I'm new to game / graphics programming and have started to dabble with SDL and OpenGL. So to start off with a very simple program I'm trying to load a BMP with SDL_LoadBMP (windows with Visual Studio 2008) I'm includiing the full source here (very short :) ) #include <sdl/sdl.h> #include <stdio.h> SDL_Surface* screen = NULL; SDL_Surface* img = NULL; SDL_Event myevent; bool quit=false; int main(int argc, char *argv[]) { atexit(SDL_Quit); if (SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_VIDEO) == -1) {printf("SDL init failed"); exit(1);} img = SDL_LoadBMP("woods.bmp"); //simple 640x480x24bpp bmp if (!img) { printf("Couldn't load bmp \n",SDL_GetError()); exit(1); }; //and just here my prgram crashes with "couldn't load bmp" SDL_GL_SetAttribute( SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER, 1 ); screen = SDL_SetVideoMode(1024,768,32,SDL_OPENGL | SDL_FULLSCREEN); if (screen == NULL) {fprintf(stderr,"Video mode failed"); exit(1); } while (!quit) { SDL_PollEvent(&myevent); switch (myevent.type) {case SDL_KEYDOWN: switch (myevent.key.keysym.sym) {case SDLK_ESCAPE : quit = true; break; }; break; }; }; SDL_FreeSurface(img); SDL_Quit(); } What am I doing wrong? I've looked at plenty of examples but cannot spot the mistake.

Advertisement
It's possible that it can't find the file. You can check for that using this function:

bool exists(const char *fileName) {
FILE *file = fopen(fileName, "r");
if (!file)
return false;

fclose(file);
return true;
}

// Inside main()
if (!exists("woods.bmp"))
printf("Can't find file: woods.bmp");

Also, try calling SDL_LoadBMP after the call to SDL_SetVideoMode (although I'm not sure if that will make any difference).