• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
EvilWeebl

Loading/Rendering/Creating .x files

This topic is 3160 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi people I really need help because I think iv tried everything but cant figure this out and its driving me crazy! So Im just doing the basic D3DXLoadMeshFromX() for just basic models. I can render the directX samples like the 'tiger.x' and 'airplane 2.x' files but cant seem to render my own. Now im not an artist and im working in a group and the artists are exporting the models in 3ds max with the panda exporter. At first they weren't doing it properly but I thought they had nailed it because when opening these in the directx viewer it shows absolutely fine, but when I come to render it in my game its not there at all?! I dont mean its there but its white or black which would mean a texture or material locating problem I mean it must be invisible or something? This code is near enough the same as directx tutorials render functions so cant figure where the problem is. Oh and I also altered the directx 'Meshes_2008' tutorial code to load my .x file instead and still no show. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement
You could try tweaking the view and projection matrices. Maybe the model wasn't modeled around the origin or something. And try to disable backface culling.

Also, this might help.

I can guarantee they are certainly not invisible vertices :)

Likely you have a render/camera mismatch. In other words, you render to some off-in-the weeds position in world space and have your camera looking at a completely different location, and no matter how you rotate your camera you can never get the model into the frustum (or maybe it does get in there but its just a single pixel).

There are many ways to bring this under control: