Setting position based on Quaternion rotation

Started by
1 comment, last by dsoltyka 14 years, 5 months ago
This question may be really simple, however I am fairly new to 3D math and have spent most of my time in the 2D world, as such certain things like quaternions are very new to me. Here is what I am trying to accomplish. I am making a simple tech demo using the Havok physics engine. Essentially I want to create a line of domino like objects that goes forward, turns 90 degrees, and continues until it ends. I am using an array of hkpRigidBody objects. Obviously, setting position in a straight line is easy, as I can just increment along an axis. However, when turning into the 90 degree angle, I need to make multiple dominoes that have slight rotations and slight alterations in position based upon their angle of rotation. Rotating the objects is easy, as I can just give them a quaternion rotation. However, I am not sure how to reposition the object based on this rotation. My assumption is that the best way to do this is to base the current objects position on the rotation of the previous object. My initial train of thought would be a unit vector indicating the new direction, then multiplying that unit vector by a scalar to get the final position, however I am not sure if I can do this with quaternions, or if this even the best way to approach the problem. Anyone have any insight they can share? Like I said I'm new to 3D math like this, but have a very strong math foundation and should be able to understand most explanations. Thank you.
Advertisement
I think you can actually use 2D math mostly, in this case. Dominoes stand on some platform, which is basically a 2D plane. I think angles, sine, cosine and a coordinate offset on that plane is enough to position the dominoes.

From your explanation it sounds like you want a 90 degree turn, but composed from multiple smaller turns in angles, along a small circle radius to get a quite smooth 90-degree corner.