• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
megatron242

OpenGL using nvidia cg

This topic is 3255 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I have a fairly good experience with OpenGL, but I'm completely new to shaders. My graphics card (on my laptop) doesn't support GLSL, so this is out of the question. I've started learning a bit on ARB_vertex_program and ARB_fregment_program, but it seems to be that there is very little online resources and examples. I came across Nvidia's cg compiler. It seems like the best choice to make. What I would be glad to know, is how popular cg is, and if it's really a good idea to invest time in learning it. Also, since I want the size of my project to be as small as possible, is it mandaotry to distribute also the cg.dll and cgGL.dll, or can I compile a cg program into an ARB vertex/fragment program, which I would be able to load without the additional DLL's. Thanks, Vince

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by daviangel
I'd look into OpenCL. It's supposed to be the future and it's cross-platform to boot!

Em, *what*? THAT'S A GPGPU SPEC. That's like suggesting PhysX to someone looking for an audio library; useless.

Anyway, I would certainly suggest it, and though I'm not 100% sure how it works I do know that the compiler is capable of spitting out ARB assembly. On the DLL front, I'm also pretty sure you could hypothetically do it but at the same time I think most end users would find it a pain in the butt. YMMV.

Quote:
Original post by megatron242
Also, since I want the size of my project to be as small as possible, is it mandaotry to distribute also the cg.dll and cgGL.dll, or can I compile a cg program into an ARB vertex/fragment program, which I would be able to load without the additional DLL's.