point on circle below a given point

Started by
2 comments, last by mattd 14 years, 5 months ago
I've spent some time and made a detailed picture / diagram of what I need to solve http://s661.photobucket.com/albums/uu335/zaneski13/?action=view&current=mathproblemcam.jpg So look at that picture and if you can find a methood to get the angle of the triangle thats below the top triangle ( read note 2 on the image ) then please share Once I know that angle I can do everything else Thanks
Advertisement
Your target's X coordinate would be
xt = r.tan(θ)
and so its y coordinate would be
yt = -sqrt(r^2 - xt^2)
and the angle you mention would be
θ' = arccos(|xt| / r)

For your example picture you would set θ = -30°, for example.

[Edited by - mattd on October 27, 2009 12:04:16 AM]
Sorry, I'm very new to this kind of math. ( I'm self taught ) This is because I'm still in high school and we haven't covered anything like this, I've just gone through algebra and some geometry.

So what exactly is θ' = arccos(|xt| / r) I understand arccos, radius but whats Xt? Just simply the x coord? And xt = r.tan(θ) whats the r infront of tan and what do you plug in for θ? I know its an angle but would it be the 30 degrees that I had in my example or the one we get from θ' = arccos(|xt| / r) Sorry, I'm a noob :P

Well anyway, thanks for the reply, I've been confused on this all week and I'm hoping I can put an end to this.
θ = input angle
r = circle radius
Xt = target point's X coordinate
Yt = target point's Y coordinate
θ' = second angle that you mentioned you were looking for

Quote:Original post by zaneski13
So what exactly is θ' = arccos(|xt| / r) I understand arccos, radius but whats Xt? Just simply the x coord?

Yup, and the formula for figuring it is the first one, Xt = r.tan(θ)

Quote:
And xt = r.tan(θ) whats the r infront of tan

The circle's radius, same as you mentioned above. The dot just means multiply.

Quote: