• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Freestyler

DX10 and C++ Class Help!

This topic is 3254 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a C++ noob and have been tinkering with DX10 and Qt 4.53, I have made a basic cube and now a grid that works fine. Currently the D3D stuff is in it's own class I've called it "iD3D10" It's actually subclassed from QWidget. I have seperated my functions unlike the DXSDK examples like "Vertex, Render, Viewport" just for my own readability. I would now like to try and expand this idea so i have for example a separate file(s) or class for things like "Primitives". So i made a new Class in MSVC which gave me "Primitive.c and .h" and i copied my Grid function to it, but how do i call my "Grid" function from my iD3D10 class? I always end up with errors.
void Primitive::Grid()
{
Blah = 0;
}
So i want to call the above "Grid" function in my "Primitive Class from the paint event below in my iD3D10 class.
void iD3D10::paintEvent(QPaintEvent *p) 
{
	Input();
	//Grid();

Primitive* Primitive;
	Primitive->Grid();
	Viewport();
	Render();
So you can see previously i just used "Grid();" and then worked fine. So I have tried to add Primitive *Primitive "Primitive->Grid(); or "Primitive.Grid(); or many variations all with various errors. I did declare "Class Primitive;" at the top of my iD3D10 file. But this is all a bit of guess work, any ideas? Any and all advice welcomed. Regards, Scott.

Advertisement
And what were the errors you saw?

In your first attempt, you called "Grid()", but there is no function named Grid(), there is a function called Primitive::Grid() -- a member of the Primitive class. Since it's not a static member, you need an instance of Primitive to call it:

Primitive primitive;
primitive.Grid();