• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Defeatist

[C++] Storing different types of variables for later use

This topic is 3334 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all! I'm working on a simple game engine project with the help of tutorials. I'm not new to programming or programming with OpenGL but I'm new to CPP. I need a method to draw variables I calculate before rendering the world polygons as the last thing before I swap the buffers. As for now the polygons get drawn on top of the text and UI items. The things I want to draw range from strings to integers. I need something to store them all in for later use. In example, a text message should be stored along with the coordinates it is going to be displayed at and the size and 3 floats for the color. I think I could make all these variables extern(global?) and just call them later on, but I heard that is bad practice. Can I store all these different variables in a single 2dimensional matrix? How would the function look like?

Advertisement
I think what you want is to create something like a struct?

struct TextMessage
{
string message;
int x, y;
float r, g, b;
};

Then you can have an array (better yet use a vector) and store a number of these for later use. Unless I interpret your question wrong.

Yes! This is exactly what Im looking for. So far it works from one file. How can I forward declarate said struct so I can store things in it from elsewhere?

UI.cpp

struct uiMsg
{
const char * msgText;
int x, y;
float fR, fG, fB;
} title, projectname

UI.h

struct uiMsg;

camera.cpp

title.msgText = "Current Frames Per Second: %d", int(framesPerSecond);
title.x = 15;
title.y = 12;
title.fR = .8;
title.fG = .8;
title.fB = .8;

debug/errlog
Quote:

1>.\Camera.cpp(61) : error C2065: 'title' : undeclared identifier