• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
EnlightenedOne

DX11 DX + XNA on the XBOX360, what of the next Gen?

This topic is 3253 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there all im studying DX in my spare time at version 9 currently and I had generally heard you need to use XNA to program games for the XBOX360s Live Arcade I heard there was a game called dirt using DX11 for the XBOX 360 (this is when the penny dropped its not just a matter of XNA on the 360) so I am at the conclusion that XNA is (not to cause an uproar) somewhat easier to engage and learn but not the only route you can take. I am curious if games can run DX or XNA then can Live arcade games use either format? or have I got my facts wrong!. DX is independent of XNA in terms of expanding development of Direct3D features right? Will the next generation of consoles be using DX11 and XNA or some newer version of XNA with DX11 or will XNA bite the dust with the next generation. Can anyone clear the issue up more. Im just curious as to the ability of someone writing DX9 code in C++ + Visual Studio 08 to compile a game onto a disc and have it be runnable on the XBOX360 as a legitimate game considering I just realised it must be able to use DX is there a generally available SDK for xbox game development or is it rather hard/impossible to get authorisation for resulting in people having to use XNA to publish games onto the XBOX at all explaining the frenzy of XNA games in the XBOX arcade? What is everyones thoughts on the matter, can anyone clear cut what you can and cant do and also what formats are usable for doing what on the console? Everyone is welcome to give an opinion but I figured this would make an interesting debate to have aswell as be rather informative, when it comes to discussing what the setup will be on the next generation of Xbox unless I have missed news