• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Faren

Good C++ tuts/engine?

This topic is 3132 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm not new to programming, but I am new to C/C++. I was wondering what suggestions you all may have for both an engine and a good source of "jump-right-in" tuts for simple games using the engine. I learn best by making things. I would prefer a engine that doesn't have crutches, or is disabled in some way; I'm trying to learn. Available libraries of sound/graphics/etc are not needed; I've been doing 3d models for a long time, and spriting for even longer (5-6 years in my free time), as well as sound... eh, work doesn't apply. I think me-screwing-around-with-audacity-a-ton is the best word. Preferably, the engine will have support for most needs (eg full-fledged engine) (I know it's probably not gonna happen, but I can dream, eh?), but I would like to be able to see a decent tut/engine combination for something simple that just touches on the three main focuses for a game; graphics, code and sound that I could start building on. Thanks for taking the time to read!

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by Faren
I'm not new to programming, but I am new to C/C++. I was wondering what suggestions you all may have for both an engine and a good source of "jump-right-in" tuts for simple games using the engine. I learn best by making things.

Preferably, the engine will have support for most needs (eg full-fledged engine) (I know it's probably not gonna happen, but I can dream, eh?), but I would like to be able to see a decent tut/engine combination for something simple that just touches on the three main focuses for a game; graphics, code and sound that I could start building on.

Working the assumptions that you are looking for a free game-engine (with editor and such) that has some tutorials to create some games.