• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Setting up SDl_gfx with dev c++

This topic is 3034 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I just don't know were I should put the files, and how I should link it, for it to correctly work... i'm new to this stuff, so constructive criticism would be nice... not anything like "you need to learn how to do this correctly.". thanks -IIimage

Advertisement
How to setup a third party library for Bloodshed Dev-C++ 4.9.9.2:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2) Go to the start menu.
3) Click on "Control Panel."
4) Open "Add/remove Programs" (winxp) or "Programs and Features" (vista)
5) Search for "Bloodshed Dev-C++" then click "Uninstall"
7) Download and install Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition (its free!) or Codeblocks (also free!).
8) Install for ten minutes or until golden brown.

How to setup a third party library for Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition:

1) Go to "Project->Settings..."
2) Navigate to "VC++ Directories"
3) Select "Include files" under "Show directories for:"
4) Add a new directory and navigate to the "include" directory of your installation of your third party library.
5) Select "Library files" under "Show directories for:"
6) Add a new directory and navigate to the "lib" directory of your installation of your third party library.
7) Click OK.
8) Open your project or create a new project.
9) Go to the project properties by pressing ALT+F7 or navigating to "Properties..." under the Project menu item
10) On the configuration page that appears, click "linker" then "input", and append to your "Additional libraries" field on the right pane.
11) Click OK.
12) Rinse, lather, and repeat for the "Release" configuration.