• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Oscon

Detecting if a model is hidden behind geometry.

This topic is 3304 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

In some games, including the recent Torchlight, models (partially) hidden behind geometry have their hidden portions rendered in a different way. How is this done using D3D? Is it simply some alphablending magic, or a stencil/zbuffer trick? I'm a beginner programmer, so bear with me if this is common knowledge. :) This is a feature i'd like to add in my own little project. Here's a picture which describes what i mean. The main character is rendered half normal/half ghostly: http://home.broadpark.no/~ohu/torchlight.jpg I'm not interested in the ghostly effect itself, just how to detect if parts of a mesh are hidden, and if possible, how much of it (in percentage). In addition, when i'm rendering the hidden part, how can i avoid rendering the visible part? This is assuming i have to render the mesh twice, to turn off the texture.

Advertisement
The easiest way would be to render the scene normally, then render the character again, setting the depth-test to GREATER. This will cause only those parts of the model that are hidden to be drawn, on top of closer geometry. Use different colors or shaders, or alpha blending, when drawing the model the second time, to make it look different.