• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

corrupt struct members on _beginthread

This topic is 3034 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i've never used threads much before, and i'm having some weird issues where after a few iterations of calling beginthread, the member data of the struct argument i'm passing in is corrupted. have a look at the example code and the output below:
typedef struct {
    int a,b,c;
}abc;
void process_abc(abc* _abc){
    FILE* f=fopen("C:\\output.txt", "at");
    fprintf(f,"%i\n",_abc->a);
    fprintf(f,"%i\n",_abc->b);
    fprintf(f,"%i\n",_abc->c);
    fclose(f);
    _endthread();
}

// in a function:
for(int i=0;i<32;i++){
    abc _abc;
    _abc.a=1;
    _abc.b=2;
    _abc.c=3;
    _beginthread((void(*)(void*))process_abc,0,(void*)&_abc);
}

the output:

any idea what's causing this?

Advertisement
Consider what happens to _abc when you exit the loop, and presumably, the function. It falls out of scope, and hence it (and the &_abc pointer you gave to each thread) can no longer be said to refer to valid memory.

Here, it is being allocated on the stack frame for the function, and when the function exits (before the threads have had their chance to observe and process the abc!), this memory it was using is being overwritten by the stack frames of later function invocations.

ok, that makes sense now that i think about it, but how do i pass this data in then? just passing a copy instead of a pointer like this won't compile:

_beginthread((void(*)(void*))process_abc,0,(void*)_abc);

what's a best practice in this situation? thanks

Possibly, allocate a new abc for each thread, and pass that to it. The thread can then delete it when it's done with it. You're transferring the burden of deletion, the ownership of the memory allocated, to the thread.

void process_abc(void *p){
abc* _abc = (abc*)p;