Writing a pong type game with C++

Started by
0 comments, last by MoOshiCow 14 years, 5 months ago
Howdy. I'm VERY new to C++, within a week or so I should be finishing my first book on learning it, and, as I'm more interested in game design than anything else, I was looking for a good tutorial on making a pong type game. I did a quick google search on the topic, and everything I found pretty much gave me the code to make it, without telling me how the code worked. As I'd rather understand how it works then just blatantly make the game, I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction to make a pong-like game, where I would actually learn what the code meant, instead of just the code by itself, with no explanation. The book I have been using is "C++ Without Fear: A Beginner's Guide That Makes You Feel Smart" and once I make a pong like game, I will start working on the next book I have, which is: "Programming Role Playing Games with DirectX (The Premier Press Game Development Series)" Thanks in advance for any help anyone gives me.
Advertisement
There should be a fair amount of pong tutorials around on the net for you to digest (just a matter of searching the right one).

But I do admire your effort of taking it step by step,
as you will probably soon realize how hard it is to make a simple game.

To give you a broad view of things..
a Pong program (and most basic game programs) can be broken down into a combination of:
-Graphics
-User Input
-Game Logic
-Sound

And you know, as the game gets more complicated you start adding things like Physics, AI, Networking, etc..but those can be studied a bit later for now.

Usually the first hurdle to climb over at this point is getting to display something on your screen (graphics). I guess you could start from the game logic part..but i find it's always more motivating when you get something on the screen to stare at. = p

There are a couple options to start out with 2D graphics.