• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Developing games in Javascript?

This topic is 3029 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I've been working with web programming for about 2 years (PHP, MySQL. And also HTML and CSS for about 3,5 years). I also know some javascript (Good enough, at least). Recetly I got an idea for yet another classic strategy game where you start at 0 and need to build your city and all that. However, I do not know C++, VB6 or Java which, as far as I understand it, is the only languages I can use to make games (Well, games NOT ran in a web browser, like with javascript). My question is, would it be possible to make "exe games", I mean games played outside of the browser but still online, with javascript, or is my only way out to learn C++ or one of the others? :( If possible, would it also be possible to use AJAX to communicate with PHP scripts on my server to save stuff to a MySQL database? Or are there any other langauges to use except those mentioned? Thanks

Advertisement
It's possible, if you package it with something that can run javascript (i.e. a web browser or XULRunner (which according to Wikipedia has been the platform for at least one commercially released game)).

Alternatively, you might want to take a look at Flash. ActionScript, the scripting language Flash uses, is based on the same standard language as javascript (ECMA Script) and is therefor very similar.

In theory, you might be able to find some javascript implementation that produces executables (there might exist .NET or Java compilers for javascript).

If so, then you might have a chance, as then you'd have .NET/Java libraries available to you.