• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Narutachi

Hammering task problem being a softbody problem or not?

This topic is 3108 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Sorry for posting this question here but i do not know where to post it otherwise. So here is my problem: I want to simulate a hammering task, where an arm tries to hit a nail with a hammer in order to put the nail into a board. The nail should be deformable, the hammer obviously not. But i am not sure if it is best to simulate this task using softbody dynamics or not? I am new to physx but not to physics because i study physics about four years now. So maybe someone can help me. Another question: Do you think that this task is rather complicated or not (taking the dynamic constraints of the board to the nail into account during nailing). Thanks

Advertisement
Frankly, no, I wouldn't use softbody dynamics. A nail is approximately a rigid body. When it deforms, it is because enough force was applied to deform it permanently, nonelastic deformation. And after the deformation, it again behaves like a rigid body. Soft body dynamics is usually about things that deform elastically...they bounce back like a rubber band or pillow or jellow or balloon filled with air. Or cloth that deforms freely. So, softbody is inappropriate.