• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
carlou86

BattleShip Game: Hybrid Implementation?

This topic is 3304 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am working on my final year Project where I am implementing a BattleShip Game, with different rules then the ones usually found on the net ( a mix between salvo variation and my professor's ideas, where the computer gives hints). My code is in java, and i've ahad no problems so far in the implementation of the GUI and "A.I" Algorithms ( coz there aren't really any heuristics ). The problem is the following: I am trying to make it a game over the network. I have no experience whatsoever in networking ( i am taking on my final semester). I created a server , and clients connect to it ( works fine). However, if i load the server with more then two clients, the messages ( coordinates in this case) are broadcasted to the rest of the clients. So i tried to let the server manage which clients talk to each other ( in a P2P manner) and the code became a whole mess. Should i rather implement a hyprid ontology, i.e the clients connect to the server, then the server connects the clients in pairs of 2 in a Master/Slave manner, So the server won't have to handle all the I/O? Or do i stick to my previous approach? I am really lost, and have barely started working with sockets, multithreading, synchronization etc... ( in the hybrid case, i assume that i don't need synchronization right? coz i will only have 2 players talking to each other...) I also want the clients to be able to choose whom to play against. Any links, step by step approach, tutorials would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Advertisement
Have you considered using RMI?

Central server is model (Game), and runs the simulation.

Clients connect and register observers.