Sign in to follow this  
Sieras

DX11 [SlimDX] DX11 Structured buffer creation error

Sieras    316
Hi, First of all I'd like to say thanks for all the hard work and support you guys are giving here. Really appreciated all the work you put in SlimDX, keep it up. Also I've learned so much from this site simply by searching and reading the forums and articles. Cheers! Now..I'm a beginner in 3D programming (started learning not that long ago), but I'm not new to the whole programming thing. I put up a basic DX10 rendering engine in C# to get familiar with these things, it will be used for my project later. This evening I've decided to play around with compute shaders (was always excited about this DX11 feature) and try to add some basic GPU compute support to my engine. My starting point was the BasicCompute11 sample from the latest DX SDK (I'm trying to port in to SlimDX with C#) which hasn't worked out as I've expected.. I'm getting a E_INVALIDARG error when I try to create a structured buffer. After some more testing and debugging I'm really out of ideas, but I hope that you guys will be able to say what I'm missing here. Here's the code which is relevant to my problem: Struct element which will gonna fill the buffer:
          struct test_buff
          {
              public int ii;
              public float ff;        
          }

And the part where I create the buffer:
            BufferDescription b_desc = new BufferDescription();
            b_desc.BindFlags = (BindFlags)0x80L | BindFlags.ShaderResource; // 0x80L - UnorderedAccessView
            b_desc.SizeInBytes = Marshal.SizeOf(typeof(test_buff)) * 1024;
            b_desc.OptionFlags = ResourceOptionFlags.StructuredBuffer;
            b_desc.StructureByteStride = Marshal.SizeOf(typeof(test_buff));
            b_desc.Usage = ResourceUsage.Default;
            b_desc.CpuAccessFlags = CpuAccessFlags.None;            

Buffer buf1 = new Buffer(device, b_desc);