Game designs that don't describe the basics?

Started by
8 comments, last by taijianT 14 years, 5 months ago
I'm new here so maybe I am missing something, but I keep running into game ideas/design documents/etc that don't actually describe the basics of the game! By that I mean posts with a detailed story and explanation of specific game details (classes, stats, etc), but that don't say that the game is a "First person Shooter" or mention the game is an MMO but don't detail if its combat based, strategy based, first person, isometric, etc. I work in IT, not in the games industry, but it seems that a design document should have something equivalent to an Executive Summary ... "Awesomeness 3000 is a side scrolling shooter with some of the stat building elements of a role playing game. The players shoot their way through levels filled with hordes of enemies, collecting experience and power-ups along the way. At the end of each level they can buy and sell power ups and use the experience gained to increase their statistics." ... or something like that. Is this something others have come across or have I just had a bad run? [Edited by - taijianT on November 9, 2009 9:23:37 PM]
Advertisement
you are completely right.

when you set out to make a game, the more you have defined, the better off you are (to a degree of course! some stuff you have to deal with on the fly or playtest and be flexible about).

Anyhow, you being in IT and me being a coder, this is perfectly logical to guys like us.

Step 1 - define your goals
Step 2 - break your goals into bite sized chunks and make a schedule (and order of operations for maximum efficiency)
Step 3 - follow the plan for success

the more creative fields of game development (artist, designers specifically!) don't always have technical backgrounds like you and me so aren't always as detail oriented or organized.

That's just how it goes :P