Sign in to follow this  
Erius

Very odd buffered raw input reading problem

Greetings. :) As the title suggests, I'm having a very odd issue with doing buffered reads of raw input. This is my first time using the raw input API, so maybe I'm doing something wrong and thus calling M$ silly is uncalled for, but I'm seriously starting to doubt myself. Anyway. Time for some code, pretty much 1:1 MSDN stuff.
 UINT cbSize; 

GetRawInputBuffer(NULL, &cbSize, sizeof(RAWINPUTHEADER));
    cbSize *= 16;            /* this is a wild guess <- comment by the author of the documentation code, it's making me wonder what SHOULD be there...*/

PRAWINPUT pRawInput = (PRAWINPUT)malloc(cbSize); 
    if (pRawInput == NULL) 
    {
        return; 
    } 
    for (;;) 
    {
        UINT cbSizeT = cbSize;
        UINT nInput = GetRawInputBuffer(pRawInput,&cbSizeT,sizeof(RAWINPUTHEADER)); //<- this is the problem child

if (nInput == 0) 
        {
            break;
        }
        assert(nInput != -1);
        PRAWINPUT* paRawInput = (PRAWINPUT*)malloc(sizeof(PRAWINPUT) * 
                                 nInput);
        if (paRawInput == NULL) 
        {

break; 
        } 
        PRAWINPUT pri = pRawInput;
        for (UINT i = 0; i < nInput; ++i) 
        { 

paRawInput[i] = pri;
            pri = NEXTRAWINPUTBLOCK(pri);
        }
        // to clean the buffer
        DefRawInputProc(paRawInput, nInput, sizeof(RAWINPUTHEADER)); 

free(paRawInput);
    }
    free(pRawInput);