Sign in to follow this  
Erius

How to deal with 'lost' input events?

Erius    124
Hello everyone :). I'm using raw input to read input events. Language is c++, and need some pointers about how I should handle lost input events. As in, for example: -Keeping both left and right mouse buttons depressed does something as long as you keep them pressed. -You release the keys, but as you did, the program hiccuped for some reason and the events are not picked up by the handler. -The action, obviously, continues. How do I handle such things the best? My thoughts so far: - A separate thread. Probably the most obvious solution, but I have little experience with threading - A timer that assumes that something has gone wrong because a specific time has passed between two frames and thus clears the button states. I can see this working, but I can also see annoying stuff happening, like having to press the combo over and over again ,especially if there is some stutter going on. - Some way of polling relevant button states after a certain time has passed between two frames. Probably a more elegant solution, but I don't know how to pull that off. The thing is, Raw Input does not, to my knowledge, which is limited, seem to register continuous XYZ_DOWN events, which makes this tricky to me... I want to have the option to have timed combos or plain old charging elements with inputs. Like hold backwards for 3 seconds and press a button to unleash doom of all kinds... Which ... isn't too affected by the problem with just that, since if it needs 3 seconds, it should be fine with 10 seconds as well, but what if it's a bow, and keeping it held for 5 seconds makes the wielder grow fatigued, etc. A hacky solution would be pressing the button again, triggering the up event eventually, but I really do like responsive and good controls, so I'd like to avoid that, if possible. (Bad controls are a big turnoff for me, a game should never have bad controls, it can kill immersion, imho if it does.)