• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Software Project for developing game analysis tool

This topic is 2994 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys, I’m a student working on a final project and I was wanting to create a tool that will serve two primary purposes. One would be to help game designers balance their characters, leveling system, and item balancing. The other purpose would be to analyze current games that are already created to help you create the best character build (trying to find the OP characters/build). I would have a general tool in which the user would input the attributes available, starting attributes, rate of increase (for static variables), weapons available, skills, ect. Ths program would then generate in a spread sheet over any given number of levels the character stats, or max possible stats for any given field. I would also want to incorporate stats like damage, and rate of attack, but this would require the algorithm used by the game to generate this stat. This should give a person a quick glance at finding items or combos that could break the game. I am wanting this program to work for certain board games (runebound, talismand, ect) and certain video games (DoTa, D2, ect). I have just a few questions. Is there any program similar to this program that I purposed? As a game designer would you find this tool useful? As a person who plays game would you find this tool useful? What features would you have to have to make this tool useful? I know this is a broad question, but what areas should I focus on that would make or break this program? I am in the research stages now, but I’m moving quickly into the design phase I can post more information if it is needed or in a couple weeks or so I could lay down the basic design/features of the program so you can get a better picture of the idea. Any help