• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Normal Maps and Deferred Lighting

This topic is 2998 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So I'm trying out the deferred lighting thing. I am keeping track of a color buffer, a depth buffer and a normal buffer. I'm storing all of the normals in eye-space so this leads to needing to transform the normals from normal maps from tangent/texture space into eye-space. I did some digging around and found that maybe the transpose of the NBT matrix would transform it but I'm getting strange results. I'm new to tangents and binormals anyway. I'm creating the tangents by a cross product with the normal and a vector from the vertex to the "next" vertex. This means all the tangents for each vertex on any given face will be rotated every which way. I wasn't sure if this matters or not. Anyone have guidance here?

Advertisement
Hi there,

This is how I do it:

- So in the shader, you need the worldView matrix

- In vertex shader, transform tangent, binormal, and normal matrix into view space

- In pixel shader:

* Sample normal from normal maps and convert it to [-1,1] interval

* Transform it to view space by multiply with TBN matrix in view space

* Use view space normal computed above for lighting.

Here are some shader codes:

uniform extern float4x4 mWorldView;

Vertex shader:

// Transform TBN to view space
TBN[0] = mul(tangentL, gWorldView);
TBN[1] = mul(binormalL, gWorldView);
TBN[2] = mul(normalL, gWorldView);

Pixel shader:

// Sample normal map and transform it to view space
float3 normalT = tex2D(NormalMapS, TexCoord);

// Expand from [0, 1] compressed interval to true [-1, 1] interval.
normalT = 2.0f * normalT - 1.0f;

// Transform normal to view space
float3 viewNormal = mul(normalT, TangentToViewMatrix);