Mentor Volunteers?

Started by
2 comments, last by jackolantern1 14 years, 4 months ago
Hello there, I've registered only recently to this site. I'm currently interested in game development, I am however not very capable in producing games from my ideas. I was hopeful that one of you characters at this website with far more experience then me, would be willing to be my mentor on this matter. I'm currently most eager to learn and study C++, so I may gain the capabilities to program the computer games. That way I can actually get things to do what I want them to, and such. I currently have some ideas for games, and I'm eager to start learning so that one day I may make them. Sound: I am currently slightly able to make sounds, for games to help in this task. Level Design: Little next to none, I do however have some. I am currently working on a map using Valve's Source SDK Hammer editor. But I'm still a novice so it isn't that great. Modeling: None. Sorry. Materialing: Again, none. Sorry. Programming: Sparse, and not very advanced, or quite even complete basic. My utmost apologies.
Advertisement
What about games most appeals to you? What elements in a game inspire you the most to be involved in their development? Do you see yourself as creative, attentive to detail or both? These questions would help you be able to pick a goal position such as game artist or QA tester. Check out this article for game development positions.

I will be glad to answer your questions in PMs if you want to be a programmer [C++/DirectX9], game artist or game designer since I love to read, write, create things and work with code. I started early with designing, and I have a couple years of programming under by belt. (no commercial projects) However, I am in college and would certainly not qualify as a pro yet. I'll be happy to talk with you if you need me, but just know I am also learning myself and I won't be afraid to tell you things that may hurt. (I've heard them in this very forum)