• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Actions Of A Game Engine?

This topic is 2996 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Im relatively new to this and im a bit curious. My goal is to create a game or possibly an online rpg similar to the final fantasy series. Ive been researching into the functions of a game engine lately and have noticed that in most game files are .DLL files and of course files with the textures, sound files, etc. Im Just wondering how the whole process is done. is it something like this (if i am wrong please correct me): -The Game Executable triggers the .DLL files at certain events - with mmorpgs it starts by executing a launcher.DLL (written with directx and c++ to display the launcher graphics and apply actions to the buttons) -when gamestart on the launcher is clicked then run the Gameguard.DLL (if the MMORPG uses gameguard) -when gameguard.DLL is finished completung its certain tasks it will then send a signal to the EXE to run the ENGINE.DLL - (Written with c++ and DirectX) The engine.DLL contains the code to launch the loginscreen and the graphics of the login text boxes/ give the button graphics a function? -When a user name and password is entered it takes the text, connects to the database of the MMO and attempts to find a match? - if a match is found the ENGINE.dll takes the data connected to that account in the database and uses it to locate certain clothing that the players characters are wearing and draws then to the base model (for the character selection screen). It also draws the 2d graphics to the screen from the programfile and give the specified buttons functions? -When game start is clicked make the screen black and begin the loading process*)- - load the skybox, npc's, and other still objects and place them in the specified location for the map. -begin reciving packets from players alr