• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
RabidSquirrel89

OpenGL Alpha Blending With Fog

This topic is 3117 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm trying to give my game some fog as well as use alpha blended textures. I haven't had any issues doing either individually however I'm having some trouble when both are being rendered. I'm still new to OpenGL and I don't fully understand the mechanics of the calls such as glBlendFunc. Anyways, I posted some pictures of the results I get with the ways I'm blending. Also I've circled some of the edges of my alpha blended textures. image1 image1 image1 image1 image1 For each of these setups I'm using a nearly pure white fog color, except for the last image which the fog color is pure black. The objective is to have the alpha blending look like the first and last image, but with a fog color other than black (I have no idea why pure black fog works fine). The third image looks as if the fog and textures with alpha blending are being rendered out of order (not from furthest to closest), and I'm not sure how I'd fix that if it were the case. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated! EDIT: My apologies for the large pictures

Advertisement
First, let me congratulate your detailed description with lots of useful screenshots and the very clear text. It surely helps alot comprehending the problem.

About fog and blending, without entering too much in details, when an object is rendered, fog affects the RGB color of the object being rendered, not the alpha ; then the computed RGBA color is then blended with the contents of the existing fragments in the framebuffer, using the blending equation you defined.