quake 3 coordinate system

Started by
8 comments, last by szecs 14 years, 3 months ago
i'm working on quake3 bsp files as a study project. i've read specifications and it states that opposed to the standard right-handed coordinate system (as i know: x points right, z points towards the observer, and y point up), quake 3 has it like this: x points right y points towards the observer z points downwards now is there any reason to keep them this way in my program or should i convert them to y= z and z= -y for rendering purposes. is there any optimization in the quake3 engine that relies on this? thank you
Advertisement
Some game engines (and Direct3D) uses that approach and as far as my limited understanding of 3d math goes, it's no different and just a matter of taste.

You're correct though in that the approach taken in BSP isn't what they teach you in school. Personally, I grew up with the left-handed coords system in Torque Game Engine and my 3D package before I started programming.
As far as i can see, that is still a right handed coordinate system, and contrary to the DX way. The only difference between that system and the originally RHCS you describe is a +90 degree rotation on the local x vector.

so if bringing a q3 model into your "standard" RHCS, just apply a -90 x rotation, and you will be good to go.

Remember that the handedness of a system can be associated with a hand by aligning the x axis with your thumb, the y with your index, and the z with your middle finger. They don't have to point "Right,up,front, as long as their relationship to each other stays the same.

From the cross product we learn that cross(x,y) = z, as well cross(,z) = x and cross(z,x) = y. Which means that as long as the vectors x,y,z stay in that order, and the fingers: thumb, index, middle stay in their own order, any vector can be associated with any finger. (ie: x= middle, y=thumb, z=index)

edit: fixed.

[Edited by - Burnt_Fyr on December 28, 2009 8:01:16 PM]