Beginner looking for guidance

Started by
4 comments, last by ELDoro 14 years, 3 months ago
Hello, I'm a beginner thats been using online tutorials and such to learn the ways of creating games. I've been working with the free version of DarkBASIC Pro. I started simple (with guess the number type games) and have moved up to a very basic side scrolling game. I still need a lot more practicing/learning but starting to look a bit ahead to what I want to be able to do in the future. I'm wanting to create a game similar graphically to this:
I know right now its not realistic for me to make a game like that but thats the basic style i'm looking for. maybe staying with that theme of wrestling or maybe boxing or something. With my current knowledge I am a little lost in how to prepare to make a game like that. Some questions: should i stick with DarkBASIC? any recommendations on an engine I could use for such a game? any other tutorials or information that might be beneficial in educating me in a way to make a similar style game? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by ELDoro
Hello, I'm a beginner thats been using online tutorials and such to learn the ways of creating games. I've been working with the free version of DarkBASIC Pro. I started simple (with guess the number type games) and have moved up to a very basic side scrolling game. I still need a lot more practicing/learning but starting to look a bit ahead to what I want to be able to do in the future.

Sounds like a good approach. Start small and keep building and learning.
I'm wanting to create a game similar graphically to this:

I know right now its not realistic for me to make a game like that but thats the basic style i'm looking for.

It looks like the game you linked is a 2D game that is presented using an isometric view point, with sprites that are animated in various directions, displaying a variety of movement and attack animation sequences.