Just a silly little question for a silly newbie

Started by
8 comments, last by Zaphod- 22 years, 8 months ago
Hello, I am TOTALLY new to openGL, and I''ve been trying to do some basic stuff with these tutorials, but for a quick question, how do you just put in a bitmap at whatever coords. I''ve seen something like loadBMP("...") and some other predefined stuff for texturing, but is there some way for just 2d bitmaps to be shown at different places? I''ve seen the Zelda game here at NeHe, but I guess there is no available code for that, because that is exactly the idea of design I want to try as a project down the road. Thanks for your time, whomever this is! Zaphod-
Advertisement
No, there''s no way to natively just put a bitmap on the screen (OpenGL''s 3D, not 2D...). But you can do the following to achieve the same effect:
- start a 2d perspective (glOrtho2D() I /think/, I can''t remember exactly...)
- draw a quad textured with your bmp at whatever coordinates you want.

Remember that gl''s 0,0 is normally in the bottom left not the top left. You''ll need to load the texture and bind it etc as well. If you''ve looked through the tuts you should be able to figure out how to do that.

If I were you I''d make sure you understand how the first 10 or so tutorials work before you try much yourself (apart from fiddling with the tuts to learn about them). If you don''t understand how OpenGL works then you''ll find it very hard to do anything new yourself

Hope my explanation was clear enough; I''m pretty tired Feel free to reply back with all your questions...
I''m with Illuzion w/r/t going through the tutorials first; one point, however -- I believe that you can specify the viewport such that 0,0 is at the top-left corner of the screen. I''m not sure if this is considered kosher, but I''m a creature of habit, and like my origin up there.

- Thoams