Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

spaceleader

a game

hi im a newbie trying to make my first graphic game using OpenGL, i have a couple of question i would like to ask. when i draw two model, and try to move one of them using the keyboard BOTH of them move.......how do you make only one model move and the other stay still? my second question is when the model touch each other, they just PASS through each other, how can u make them react when one touches another?

Excellent questions.

I''m sort of new at OpenGL, but I''ve been doing Direct3D for three years. With that, you had to specify your own transformation matrices.

Anyway. I think in your case, you''re not loading an identity matrix for the ''GL_MODELVIEW'' transformation matrix. Try this before you render each object:

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();

Check out a math book about matrices and how they are used for translation, rotation, and scaling.

About collision detection (that''s the term for it), there are several options. Depending on the shape of the objects, you could use bounding spheres. That is, assume each of the objects is sphere-shaped and give them an appropriate radius. During each test for collisions, determine the distance from the centers and assume a collision happened when the sum of the radii of the two objects is greater than the distance between the two centers (you could be slick and square the sum of the radii and compare that to square of the distance so you don''t have to call sqrt() but that may be trivial at this point in time).

Hope that works for you.