Sign in to follow this  
robertosaget

flash collision detection help. It is really basic

Hello, I am currently learning the basics of flash and i am on collision detection. I am trying to test to see if two rectangular objects are hitting and if they are i want the first rectangle(The one that is moving) to stop. Here is a snippet of my code, i know something basic is not going on but i cant see what. addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, hitTest); function hitTest(e:Event):void { if(robot_b.hitTestObject(colbox_b)) { } else { addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME ,moverobot); } } robot_b is the moving object and it it a symbol and colbox_b is a symbol and it is stationary. What happens is robot_b still moves even when they are hit. I am using cs4 What should i do? Should i post the rest of the code or will this suffice? Thanks

I'm not very experienced with actionscript, but it looks to me that for every frame there is no collision, you are adding another event listener which listens for the ENTER_FRAME event, which calls the moverobot method when the ENTER_FRAME event fires.

I'm guessing you want this event listener to be removed when a collision occurs, so this should be in you if block. You only want one event listener to be added when no collision is occuring, not one every frame as looks to be hapenning at the moment.

A better idea may be to work with velocities instead of adding / removing event listeners to move your character.

Something like :

addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, update);

function Update(event:Event):void
{

var xVelocity:Float = 0.0f;
var yVelocity:Float = 0.0f;

if(KeyBoard.KeyDown.Left)
xVelocity = -5;

if(KeyBoard.KeyDown.Right)
xVelocity = 5;

if(KeyBoard.KeyDown.Up)
yVelocity = -5;

if(KeyBoard.KeyDown.Down)
yVelocity = 5;

var oldPos:Point = Point(robot_b.X, robot_b.Y);

robot_b.X += xVelocity;
robot_b.Y += yVelocity;

if(robot_b.hitTestObject(coolbox_b))
{
robot_b.X = oldPos.X;
robot_b.Y = oldPos.Y;
}

}