Sign in to follow this  
Hauw

Just started 3D programming (C++)

Hello guys, I'm rather a new member of this forum. I've just had 2 years of experience in coding with C++ and I had experience with 2D games using SDL. However I'm stuck with 3D games, so I helped myself by google-ing several 3D tutorials. One of them is understandable to me, however, it won't compile. I've tried to download SDK, however with my lame 256kbps connection, downloading 556 MB file is rather impossible. Could someone fix it? Source : http://www.directxtutorial.com/tutorial9/b-direct3dbasics/dx9B1.aspx #include <windows.h> #include <windowsx.h> #include <d3d9.h> // include the Direct3D Library file #pragma comment (lib, "d3d9.lib") // global declarations LPDIRECT3D9 d3d; // the pointer to our Direct3D interface LPDIRECT3DDEVICE9 d3ddev; // the pointer to the device class // function prototypes void initD3D(HWND hWnd); // sets up and initializes Direct3D void render_frame(void); // renders a single frame void cleanD3D(void); // closes Direct3D and releases memory // the WindowProc function prototype LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc(HWND hWnd, UINT message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam); // the entry point for any Windows program int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow) { HWND hWnd; WNDCLASSEX wc; ZeroMemory(&wc, sizeof(WNDCLASSEX)); wc.cbSize = sizeof(WNDCLASSEX); wc.style = CS_HREDRAW | CS_VREDRAW; wc.lpfnWndProc = WindowProc; wc.hInstance = hInstance; wc.hCursor = LoadCursor(NULL, IDC_ARROW); wc.hbrBackground = (HBRUSH)COLOR_WINDOW; wc.lpszClassName = L"WindowClass"; RegisterClassEx(&wc); hWnd = CreateWindowEx(NULL, L"WindowClass", L"Our First Direct3D Program", WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW, 300, 300, 800, 600, NULL, NULL, hInstance, NULL); ShowWindow(hWnd, nCmdShow); // set up and initialize Direct3D initD3D(hWnd); // enter the main loop: MSG msg; while(TRUE) { while(PeekMessage(&msg, NULL, 0, 0, PM_REMOVE)) { TranslateMessage(&msg); DispatchMessag