Sign in to follow this  
martiniinthemorning

NURBS continuity - howto in opengl?

Hi, I'm new to opengl and as to 3d programming. I would like to know how to achieve smooth join points between NURBS patches in opengl(mathematically, no 3d editors). I've learned from 3d books that to achieve at least c0 continuity between NURBS surfaces, at least each of the points will meet. And for c1 continuity, the derivatives of the NURBS basis functions should be equal. For Cn's higher derivatives are taken. I've used opengl's gluNurbsSurface function to generate NURBS. I have 3 NURBS and I had connected their edges, however these edges are not smooth. In these cases, where smoothness is important, is their a function in opengl that takes care of the smoothness of the joined edges? Or does opengl leave this calculations to its users? If it needs users to have their own calculations, then how can this be done knowing that in the first place a built-in opengl function was used to generate these NURBS surfaces?

Nik02    4348
Connected NURBS patches are C1 continuous if the tangents at the edges point at exactly opposite directions. They become C2 continuous if the tangents are of exactly same magnitude as well. The tangent vector for a particular edge point is defined as (next point from the edge point)-(edge point).

It is easier to understand if you look at a 2D NURBS spline and its control points. A patch behaves exactly the same, but in two directions.

"Connected NURBS patches are C1 continuous if the tangents at the edges point at exactly opposite directions. They become C2 continuous if the tangents are of exactly same magnitude as well. The tangent vector for a particular edge point is defined as (next point from the edge point)-(edge point). "