Sign in to follow this  
ianmclean0001

simple path finding

ianmclean0001    100
Hi there I hope this make sense ;) I am having some trouble with a simple path finding script that I am trying to write. Basically I have a node list (I called them waypoints) each waypoint as a list of adjacent nodes. I have a find path function which takes the current node and the target node. The function looks at the current nodes adjacent node list and tries to find the closest node to the target. It then goes through to process until it finds the target node. I have got the feeling I haven't got the basics of pathfinding right. I have looked at A* pathfinding but the examples I have seen are grid based so I didn't under stand how to apply it to this problem. any help or advice would be really appreciated. Thanks Mac not sure if its worth showing you but here is the FindPath function please forgive my code I am new to C++.
void PathState::FindPath(int CurrentWayPoint,int TargetWayPoint)
{

if(!path.empty())  
     path.clear();

int TragetX = waypoints[TargetWayPoint].WAYPOINT_X;
     int TragetY = waypoints[TargetWayPoint].WAYPOINT_Y;
     path.push_back(CurrentWayPoint);

int ChildWayPoint;
     int LastChildWayPoint;
     int ChildDistance;
     int ShortestDistance;
     bool Add;
     int Counter = 1;

while(CurrentWayPoint!=TargetWayPoint)
     {

if(Counter>=waypoints.size())
        break;                                   

Add = false;
        ShortestDistance = 1000;                                   
        for(int i = 0; i < waypoints[CurrentWayPoint].ADJACENT_POINTS.size(); i++)
        {

int AdjPoint = waypoints[CurrentWayPoint].ADJACENT_POINTS[i];

if(AdjPoint==TargetWayPoint)
                {
                path.push_back(TargetWayPoint);                          
                break;
                }

ChildDistance = CalculateDistance(TragetX,TragetY, waypoints[AdjPoint].WAYPOINT_X , waypoints[AdjPoint].WAYPOINT_Y );

if(ChildDistance<ShortestDistance)