Sign in to follow this  
Inasnum

SlimDX Setup Process

This is my first time trying to use SlimDX or DirectX at all, so I apologize in advance for the ignorance that I'm sure to display. I'm using DirectX 10 (a somewhat arbitrary choice) and C#. I'm following the example of a simple tutorial I found that brings up a Form and draws a textured quad. My ultimate goal for now is to draw a square in a 3D space. However, I can't seem to get it to run. using System.Drawing; using System.Collections.Generic; using System.Windows.Forms;
// Step 1: Include the SlimDx namespace and alias nested namespaces
using SlimDX;
using SlimDX.DXGI;
using SlimDX.Direct3D10;

// resolve conflict - DXGI.Device & Direct3D10.Device
using Device = SlimDX.Direct3D10.Device;

// Create a description of the swap chain or front and back buffers
            SwapChainDescription swapDesc = new SwapChainDescription();
            swapDesc.ModeDescription = modeDesc;        // link the ModeDescription
            swapDesc.SampleDescription = sampleDesc;    // link the SampleDescription
            swapDesc.BufferCount = 1;                   // Number of buffers (including the front buffer)
            swapDesc.Flags = SwapChainFlags.None;
            swapDesc.IsWindowed = true;
            swapDesc.OutputHandle = renderForm.Handle;  // The output window (the windows being rendered to)
            swapDesc.SwapEffect = SwapEffect.Discard;   // Scrap the contents of the buffer every frame
            swapDesc.Usage = Usage.RenderTargetOutput;  // Indicate that this SwapChain is going to be a render target

// Create the DirectX 10 Device
            // Device = SlimDX.DirectX10.Buffer, see using declarations for resolution if there is a conflict
            Device device = new Device(DeviceCreationFlags.None);

// Create the actual swap chain
            SwapChain swapChain = new SwapChain(factory, device, swapDesc);