Sign in to follow this  
conciliator

Working directly in projection space?

First of all, I'm really new to DX10D3, so please bare with me. Background: in order to learn this neat API, I was thinking about writing some 3D GUI that I later could incorporate into minor game projects. Question: can I skip the world and/or view transformations, and take my objects straight to projection space? After all, I shouldn't need to place GUI elements in the world, as they are not part of it. Does this make sense? Could anyone point me in the right direction regarding skipping the world and view transformations? I've been playing with the MS D3D10 tutorial 4 (3D spaces), turning off the world and view transform in the vertex shader in tutorial04.fx. This, however, turns out pretty disappointing... (Blank screen). What am I missing? Thanks! :)

as a fast solution, you could use an identity-matrix as world-view-matrix, so you can define positions in normalized device coordinates which ranges only from (-1,-1,0) to (1, 1, 1) - so your passed coordinates must be within this range.

to be honest i doubt that this is the best way to do a 3D GUI but i also dont know anything better - never tried anything like that yet

Since you're using shaders, it's not a problem to write a shader that doesn't transform, but simply passes the coordinates as is. As mancubit said, remember that you need to output X and Y in the -1 to 1 range to make them visible. If you want something else, you can transform from any space you want to this space in your shader.

Thanks for the quick reply, guys.

BTW: ET3D; you say "since you're using shaders...". I just started to read the documentation, but thus far have been under the impression that one had to use vertex shaders specified in HLSL to render. Are there other ways to render than using HLSL?

Your on the right track, but dont even think in terms of 'projection', thats is just another martix.