Sign in to follow this  
CWizard

Using 3D Studio Max as basic "level editor"

CWizard    127
Hello good folks. Has been too long since I was active around here... but now I need your help! I'm currently developing a fairly small educational game, that simulates the construction process and using 3D to visualize the progress. So there will be a number of building projects in the game, and the idea is to break the buildings down into elements/blocks, which encapsulates animation and logic for when work is done on them. Many of these could be shared between projects. The meat of these blocks could be one or more 3D models or done in code or whatever. Now, i could just represent the building in a text file, which lists all objects and their position/rotation. But it would be nice to have a more intuitive way of working with it. I'm a programmer and don't know a lot about modeling software and the designer/modeler doesn't know much about the technical side. So, is there a way of assembling an object/scene in say 3D Studio Max, that takes objects from an "external" library and a way and format to save it so you only get object "class", id, position and rotation in the file? Hope you see what i'm getting at. Don't want or need meshes and materials and so on, since the objects/blocks are defined elsewhere. I'll admit I might be looking at this the wrong way. Cheers!

Kryzon    4630
Sure thing.

Make your artist assemble the scene using copies of those prefabs. After that's done, go to File -> Export... -> ASCII Scene Export (.ASE).

When the dialog opens, have your options be like this:

ASE Scene Export Dialog

Which means "no vertex information will be exported", just the objects names and pos\rot\scale data.

In the end you'll get an ASE file (it's plain text) that looks like this:
Quote:

*3DSMAX_ASCIIEXPORT 200
*COMMENT "AsciiExport Version 2,00 - Mon Feb 15 16:29:10 2010"
*SCENE {
*SCENE_FILENAME ""
*SCENE_FIRSTFRAME 0
*SCENE_LASTFRAME 100
*SCENE_FRAMESPEED 30